Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Nanomaterials-Sensor Laboratory

Praveen Sekhar, PhD

Assistant Professor

Phone: (360) 546-9186
Fax: (360) 546-9438
Located in Engineering and Computer Science (VECS) VECS 201W
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday, 14:00-15:00
Support Staff: Susanna Maria


Praveen Sekhar received his BE degree (distinction) in electrical and electronics engineering from the Coimbatore Institute of Technology, Coimbatore, India, in 2001, his MS degree in Microelectronics from the University of South Florida (USF), Tampa, Florida, USA in 2005; and his PhD in electrical engineering from USF, Tampa, Florida, USA in 2008. He was a postdoctoral fellow in  the Sensors and Electrochemical Devices group at  Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL), Los Alamos, NM before joining Washington State University Vancouver. His current research interests are in the areas of micro and nanoengineered surfaces for sensing applications adrressing energy security, National security and point-of-care diagnostics. Praveen was the receipient of the Outstanding Dissertation Award and is a panelist reviewer for the National Science Foundation and the Department of Energy.

Course IDTitleMeeting TimeLocationSemesterSyllabus
ECE 321Circuit Modeling and Analysis IITu,Th 16:15-17:30 VELS VELS 18Fall 2011
ECE 414Introduction to Digital Signal Processing M,W 12:00 - 12:50 VELS 19 Spring 2012
ECE 321 Circuit Analysis and Modeling II Tu,Th 16:15-17:30 VECS 104Fall 2012
ECE 414 Introduction to Digital Signal Processing Tu,Th 12:12:50 VECS 122, 220 Fall 2012
ECE 302 Properties of Electronic Materials M,W 10:35-11:50 VMMC 217 Spring 2013
ECE 341 Signals and Systems M,W 14:50-16:05 VECS 122 Spring 2013
ECE 321 Circuit Modeling and Analysis II Tu,Th 7:45 - 9:00 VECS 122 Fall 2013 PDF
ECE 414 Introduction to Digital Signal Processing M,W 9:10-10:00 VELS 19 Fall 2013 PDF



  • Sensors for National Security, Energy Security and Cost-effective Health Care.
  • Semiconductor Fabrication
  • MicroElectroMechanicalSystems
  • New Nanostructures for Energy Applications.
  • Advanced Materials Characterization.

Graduate Students

Positions available for motivated undergraduate and graduate students interested in clean room semiconductor fabrication or MEMS fabrication, sensors, or nanomaterials.

Recent Publications

Refer CV