Meet the Team

Journalism Education Initiative Faculty

Murrow faculty currently involved in the initiative include experienced journalists with many years in the industry, along with nationally-ranked journalism researchers:

  • Journalism Department Chair and Professor Benjamin Shors
  • Graduate Director and Associate Professor Ryan Thomas, PhD
  • Associate Professor Lisa Waananen-Jones
  • Professor Porismita Borah, PhD
  • Assistant Professor Jennifer Henrichsen, PhD
  • Assistant Professor Tracy Simmons
  • Assistant Professor Alison Boggs

Others will be involved as projects evolve.

External Project Consultant:

Matthew Shelley, former director of Murrow Global Partnerships, and Chief of Party on USAID-funded media development projects in the Middle East, the Balkans, the Caucasus, and South Asia.


Core Research Team

  • Brian J. Bowe, PhD., chair of the journalism department at Western Washington University
  • Jonathan Albright, PhD., of the University of Galway
  • Javed Nazir, a faculty member at the Lahore University of Management Sciences