Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Manoj Karkee Agricultural Automation and Robotics Lab

Research Team

Principal Investigator

Manoj Karkee, Associate Professor

Post-Doctoral Researchers

Safal Kshetri, 2020 – present

Graduate Students

Uddhav Bhattarai, Ph.D. Student

2018 – present

Research: Robotic pruning and thinning of apple trees

Daniel Borrenpohl, MS Student

Fall 2019 – present

Research: Multi-view approaches for Automated Pruning of Apple Trees

Martin Churuvija, MS Student

Fall 2019 – present

Research: Automated pruning of Fruit Trees Trained to Upright Fruiting Offshoot Architecture

Zixuan He, Ph.D. Student

Fall 2019 – present

Research: Machine vision for multi-robot, coordinated strawberry harvesting

Chenchen Kang, Ph.D. Student


Dissertation: Decision Support System for Smart Irrigation

Achyut Paudel, Ph.D. Student


Dissertation: Decision Support System for Precision Nitrogen Application in Apples

Sushma Thapa, MS Student


Research: Smart irrigation system for winegrapes

Priyanka Upadhyaya, PhD Student

Spring 2020 – present

Research: Estimating crop-load in fruit crops using mobile devices and cloud computing platform



Research Scientists/Post Docs

Yaqoob Majeed, May 2020 – Nov 2020

Now Assistant Professor at University of Agriculture Faisalabad, Pakistan



Long He, 2015-2017

Now Assistant Professor at Pennsylvania State University


Peter Ako Larbi, 2012 – 2014
Now Assistant CE Specialist at University of California Extension


Shaouchun Ma, 2012 – 2015

Now Associate Professor at China Agricultural University


Ajay Sharda, 2012 – 2013
Now Associate Professor at Kansas State University

Graduate Students


Santosh Bhusal, 2016-2020 (PhD)


Now at Harvest Croo, FL, USA

Yaqoob Majeed, 2016-2020 (PhD)

Now Assistant Professor, Faisalabad Agriculture University, Pakistan


Xin Zhang, 2016-2020 (PhD)


Now at UC Davis, CA

Suraj Amatya (PhD), 2011 – 2015

Now with John Deere

Mark DeKleine (PhD), 2011 – 2014

Now at De Kleine Machine Company LLC (Self Created)

Aleana Gongal (MS), 2012 – 2014

Now with John Deere


Abhisesh Silwal (PhD), 2014-2016
Now Project Engineer at The Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University

Lin Chen (PhD), 2015-2019

Now with a Private Company in China


Kapil Khanal (MS), 2016-2018,

Now at Pix4D

Patrick Scharf (MS), 2012 – 2016N

ow at WSU

Aadit Shrestha, 2015-2016

Bikram Adhikari (MS), 2010 – 2011


Visiting Professors/Scholars

Shiv Kumar Lohan (2020)

Lecturer, Panjaab Agricultural University, India

Won-soo Kim (2020)

Chungnam National University, South Korea

Wanrong Gu (2019-2020)

Lecturer, South China Agricultural University

Shenglian Lu (2019-2020)

Associate Professor, Guangxi Normal University,


Longsheng Fu (2017-2019)

North West Ag and Forestry University, China


Zheng Zhou (2018-2019)

North-East Forestry University

Jing Zhang (2016-2018)

China Agricultural University


Dai Li (2017-2018)

Zhejiang Sci-Tech University


Kun Cai (2017-2018)

South China Agricultural University


Hongjie Liu (2017-2018)

Agricultural University of Hebei

Yuanyuan Shao (2017-2018)

Shandong Agricultural University


Yunlong Wei (2017-2018)

Fuzhou University


Hongxing Peng (2016-2017)

South China Agricultural University

Satoshi Yamamoto (2015 – 2016)
Senior Researcher, NARO

Wesley Santiago (2014)
University of Campinas

Youchun Ding (2013 – 2014)
Huazhong Agricultural University

Yanhua Jia (2012 – 2013)
China Agricultural University

Han Fu
China Agricultural University
2014 – 2016
Supod Kaewkorn
Asian Institute of Technology
Gaili Gao
China Agricultural University
2014 – 2015
Jun Li
South China Agricultural University
2014 – 2015


Daniel Gleason, 2019, George Fox University

Ashwin Lamsal, 2019, Iowa State University

Aswin Dahal, 2018, Hanford High School

William Zhang, 2018, University of Washington

Neena Schueller, 2015, University of Florida

Maimunah Mohd Ali, 2013, University Putra Malaysia

Norsuhailizah Sazali, 2013, University Putra Malaysia

Chin Nee Vong, 2013, University Putra Malaysia

Mohdakmal Bin Mohmad, 2012, University Putra Malaysia

Afaliq Yusof, 2012, University Putra Malaysia

Fatin Abjul Rahmen, 2011, University Putra Malaysia

Fatin Azizan, 2011, University Putra Malaysia