Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Outside Looking In Lobbyists' Views on Civil Discourse in U.S. State Legislature


Nicholas P. Lovrich

Nicholas P. Lovrich is Regents Professor Emeritus in the School of Politics, Philosophy and Public Affairs at Washington State University. He holds the honor of being a Claudius O. and Mary W. Johnson Distinguished Professor of Political Science.


Francis A. Benjamin

Francis A. Benjamin is an administrative professional in the psychology department and adjunct faculty in the finance department at Washington State University. He is past president of the Association of Washington Cities and heads up the Political Interaction Lab in the department of psychology which carries out online and mail surveys and experiments.


John C. Pierce

John C. Pierce is Vice Chancellor Emeritus and Professor Emeritus at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs and former executive director of the Oregon Historical Society. He currently serves as affiliate research faculty in the School of Public Affairs and Administration at the University of Kansas.


William D. Schreckhise

William D. Schreckhise is a professor of political science and chair of the department of political science in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Arkansas.



Foreword Authors

Steven Stehr

Steven Stehr is the Sam Reed Distinguished Professor in Civic Education and Public Civility and serves on the faculty of the School of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs at Washington State University. He was also the first director of the Thomas S. Foley Institute for Public Policy and Public Service.


Sam Reed

Sam Reed served as Washington’s Secretary of State from 2001-2013, and prior to that he served as Thurston County Auditor for five terms. In 2006-2007 he served as the president of the National Association of Secretaries of State. His legacy is one of active championing of civility, moderation, and bipartisanship in government.



Preface Authors

Craig Curtis, J.D., Ph.D.

Craig Curtis, J.D., Ph.D. is a professor of political science at Bradley University where he teaches courses in public law and public administration. He earned his Ph.D. in the Department of Political Science at Washington State University and worked on the staff of the Division of Governmental Studies and Services while doing his dissertation research.


Bradley McMillan

Bradley McMillan is Executive Director, Institute for Principled Leadership in Public Service and serves as Coordinator of the Master’s in Nonprofit Leadership program at Bradley University.


Megan Remmel

Megan Remmel is an assistant professor in the department of political science at Bradley University.


James R. Hanni

James R. Hanni is a resident of Lawrence, Kansas. He has served on Kansas Historical Foundation Board of Directors and currently chairs the board of directors of The Gettysburg Foundation of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania.


Richard Kimball

Richard Kimball is President of Vote Smart, a non-profit, nonpartisan voter education organization founded in 1988. Vote Smart staff and volunteers seek to allow reason and civility to regain the advantage in an age when division and faction tend to reign supreme.



Chapter Contributions

Robert G. Boatright

Robert G. Boatright is a professor and chair of the Department of Political Science at Clark University and the director of research for the National Institute for Civil Discourse at the University of Arizona.


Luke Fowler

Luke Fowler is an associate professor and director of the MPA program in the School of Public Service at Boise State University.


Leanne S. Giordono

Leanne S. Giordono is a postdoctoral scholar in the School of Behavioral and Social Sciences at Oregon State University. She holds a PhD in public policy from Oregon State University’s School of Public Policy and an MPA from Princeton University’s School of Public and International Affairs.


Briana M. Huett

Briana M. Huett is a Distinguished Doctoral Fellow and candidate in the Public Policy Ph.D. program at the University of Arkansas. She is a final-year student in the Masters in Statistics and Analytics program at the University of Arkansas.


Jaclyn J. Kettler

Jaclyn J. Kettler is an assistant professor of political science at Boise State University.


Karl Kurz

Karl Kurz retired after a 40-year+ career as a political scientist with the National Conference of State Legislatures. He is now the principal of Legis Matters, a consulting firm dedicated to strengthening democracy. He has been assisting, supporting, studying and writing about legislatures for over 50 years.


Claire McMorris

Claire McMorris is a 2017 summa cum laude graduate of the University Honors College at Oregon State University with a BA in political science and minors in music and Spanish. At Oregon State University, she was a junior inductee to Phi Beta Kappa. Claire currently serves as the Government Relations Coordinator for Oregon State University.


Christopher A. Simon

Christopher A. Simon is a professor of political science and former director of the MPA program at the University of Utah. He is the coauthor (with Brent Steel and Nicholas Lovrich) of State and Local Government: Sustainability in the 21st Century (Oxford University Press, 2011; 2nd edition, Oregon State University Press, 2018).


Brent S. Steel

Brent S. Steel is a professor and Graduate Director in the School of Public Policy at Oregon State University. He has been on the board and executive committee of Vote Smart since the founding of the organization.


Stephanie L. Witt

Stephanie L. Witt is a professor and Director of Training for the School of Public Service at Boise State University.